All Sails Ahead: No Last Minute Delays, Fortnite Season 8 Time Confirmed

All Sails Ahead: No Last Minute Delays, Fortnite Season 8 Time Confirmed


Fortnite Season 8 Time
The much anticipated Fortnite v8.00 update is on schedule, as Epic confirms downtime window.

After 84 days, Season 7 is set to close out, with Season 8 on schedule for a February 28th 04:00 ET update window. Players can expect matchmaking problems up to 30 minutes prior to downtime. Epic has also confirmed the Season 8 update file is larger then previous seasons.

Los Angeles – 1AM
Chicago – 3AM
New York – 4AM
London – 9AM
Moscow – 12PM
Bejing – 5PM
Tokyo – 6PM
Sydney – 8PM


What Season 8 game changes have been confirmed.

Map changes and weapon changes have not been confirmed, however visual and sound changes have been released. This is what will be changing:

The following Sound changes have been confirmed by Epic:

-Improved Weapon firing sounds: All player weapon fire sounds are now 2D stereo, giving them a much fuller and natural sound.
-All 3rd person weapon sounds from other players are now mono and run through the new reverb, which gives much better point spatialization while still sounding ‘in the world’.
-Reverb
-There is now a global reverb available.
-We are setting it up as an ‘opt-in’ feature, so we will be adding the reverb to categories of sounds as we go.
-Currently, weapon related sounds are set up with reverb. In the future, we will be able to have different reverb settings for different areas of the map.

ADS

-ADS / Crouch Foley
-New sounds have been added for going into and out of ADS on each weapon, as well as sounds for going in and out of crouch. This gives a better sense of player ownership of actions.
-Improvements to upstairs / downstairs footsteps for better tactical awareness.
-Improved hit notification audio
-Improvements to sound and mix of 2D hit notifications when players land shots on enemies. This includes a new clearer “shield break” sound.
-Cleaned up the “weak-point” harvesting crit sound
-We increased the dynamic range and shortened the length of this sound; it is still clear but much less fatiguing.
-Fixed an issue preventing footsteps from being heard in some situations.

The following Visual changes have been confirmed by Epic:

-There will be some significant visual changes made to the game with the beginning of Season 8, too.
-“We are adding an option to disable motion blur (off by default) in Season 8.
-“Disabling shadows currently provides a gameplay benefit. This is not our intention and we are tweaking the way shadows are rendered to both brighten them and also make characters stand out better. This is going to be an ongoing effort starting with v8.0 and we will evaluate other options if this doesn’t end up working.”

Game Life will be covering all map, weapon and aesthetic changes that come with Season 8 and will update you as news is released.

Read Game Life on the GO: Follow us on Twitter @GameLifeHQ

log in

reset password

Back to
log in

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems.

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

For perfomance reasons we use Cloudflare as a CDN network. This saves a cookie "__cfduid" to apply security settings on a per-client basis. This cookie is strictly necessary for Cloudflare's security features and cannot be turned off.
  • __cfduid

Decline all Services
Accept all Services